Assuming Climate responsibility Accompaniment for destinations with a net zero target

Section ID Primary
E010 Textblock-Element

KlimDest – The Project

The Swiss government has decided on net zero for 2050. However, there have been no concepts for tourism in the long-term climate strategy so far – also because there was no concrete data. This is where the project “Climate Neutral Destinations” comes in. The Innotour-funded project aims to calculate, model and reduce the climate tourism footprint of destinations. On the one hand, the highest certification standards are met, and on the other hand, a contribution is made to the climate goals of the Paris Agreement and the implementation of the “Green Deal” Graub√ľnden.

E041 Paralax Element

The three destinations

E011 Textbild-Element

Arosa

With Arosa 2030, the holistic destination strategy, the chosen path of sustainable development is being consistently pursued. Sustainability means that economic, ecological and social factors must be in harmony. One of the first steps is the CO2 balance. It serves to determine the current situation. In this way, the greatest levers can be evaluated, which serve as the basis for the reduction path of the destination.

 

E011 Textbild-Element

Valposchiavo

In Valposchiavo, local products “100% Valposchiavo” from locally closed value chains from production to food refinement and to enjoyment are at the centre of the valley’s tourist offer. In the future, Valposchiavo, as a valley where electricity production from hydropower has played an important role for over 100 years, would also like to develop further in the area of CO2 neutrality.

E011 Textbild-Element

Davos

In the holiday destination of Davos, companies and guests protect the climate together. They are helping to achieve an ambitious goal: Davos wants to become the first holiday resort in Switzerland with net zero emissions by 2030. The focus is on promoting measures that reduce CO‚āā emissions locally. For this purpose, guests, customers, companies and the municipality jointly feed the “myclimate climate fund Davos.

E041 Paralax Element

¬Ľ For the Davos Destinations Organisation, an assessment of the carbon footprint of the tourist destination is an important cornerstone for addressing the climate goals of the coming years on a science-based basis.¬Ľ
~ Luca Ravasio, Destination Davos Klosters

E010 Textblock-Element

System Delimitation

The climate responsibility of tourism extends beyond the boundaries of the destination. Ultimately, the motivation to go on holiday is the driver for people to travel. Therefore, our comprehensive calculation of the honest climate footprint considers the entire journey – from departure at home to return and also includes all products consumed on holiday and their transport. In the destination, all tourism service providers, from the accommodation to the mountain railway to the indoor swimming pool, are included in the calculation.

E010 Textblock-Element

Quickguide – 5 steps to comprehensive
climate protection

Step 1: Organisation

Strategic developments take time and manpower, it is no different with a footprint calculation. Do not underestimate the effort!

You can find more information about step 1 in the manual

Step 2: Survey

A web-based platform for standardised carbon accounting and management of comprehensive sustainability data is used for this purpose. This has been adapted, expanded and tested by myclimate together with the University of Applied Sciences Graub√ľnden to meet the needs for destination calculation and the necessary modelling. You need a licence and preferably an introductory workshop.

You can find more information about step 2 in the manual.

Step 3: Evaluation

The following evaluation of the data serves to identify the relevant areas (hotspots) and forms the basis for the successful planning of measures. Repetitions of the evaluation form the starting point for future success monitoring.

You can find more information about step 3 in the manual.

Step 4: Strategy

The findings of the climate footprint and the analysis of internal and external climate-relevant influencing factors are used as the basis for a climate strategy in order to evaluate the opportunities and risks for the tourism destination but also for the individual service providers – and to develop measures for climate protection.

You can find more information about step 4 in the manual.

Step 5: Climate Fund

The Climate Fund is the comprehensive financing mechanism for the implementation of the climate strategy of an entire destination.

You can find more information about step 5 in the manual.
E041 Paralax Element

¬Ľ To achieve our goals, we need to know where we come from. Knowing the carbon footprint of the destination is the basis for initiating change. The biggest challenge here is to know and collect the data. Thanks to KlimDest, we have an instrument that enables us to close this knowledge gap and to conduct regular monitoring in the future. ¬ę
~ Claudio Föhn, Destination Arosa

E010 Textblock-Element

Climate communication – winning the guest as a partner

An important project result concerns climate and sustainability communication to the guests. They do not want to be lectured or patronised, but they are interested in climate commitment in their holiday region. Through proper communication, guests can be won over as allies in the efforts against climate change. Many studies also show that sustainability-conscious travellers are willing to spend more money on climate-friendly products. Our guide highlights some of the communication principles that have been researched for this purpose.

E041 Paralax Element

¬Ľ In recent years, we have relied heavily on local products with the 100% Valposchiavo project. KlimDest can help us to determine whether and to what extent these efforts are contributing to CO2 reduction. The aim is to back this up with concrete figures. ¬ę
~ Kaspar Howald, Destination Valposchiavo

E052 Logoblock
E011 Textbild-Element

Funded by

        

 

E010 Textblock-Element

Bildnachweis

photo credits: © unsplash.com

1.photo across: © Valposchiavo Turismo

2.photo across: © Davos Klosters / Martin Heckmeier

3.photo across: © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli

4.photo across: © Valposchiavo Turismo

Klimaverantwortung ĂŒbernehmen Begleitung fĂŒr Destinationen mit Netto-Null-Ziel

Section ID Primary
E010 Textblock-Element

KlimDest – Das Projekt

Die Schweizer Regierung hat Netto-Null fĂŒr 2050 beschlossen. FĂŒr den Tourismus gibt es in der langfristigen Klimastrategie jedoch bisher keine Konzepte – auch weil es keine konkreten Daten gab. Hier setzt das Projekt „Klimaneutrale Destinationen“ an. Das von Innotour geförderte Projekt hat die Berechnung, Modellierung und Reduzierung des klimatouristischen Fussabdrucks von Destinationen zum Ziel. Dabei werden einerseits höchste Zertifizierungsstandards eingehalten, andererseits ein Beitrag zu den Klimazielen des Pariser Abkommens und zur Umsetzung des «Green Deals» GraubĂŒnden geleistet.

E041 Paralax Element

Die drei Destinationen

E011 Textbild-Element

Arosa

Mit Arosa 2030, der ganzheitlichen Destinationsstrategie, wird der eingeschlagene Weg der nachhaltigen Entwicklung konsequent weiterverfolgt. Nachhaltigkeit heisst dabei, dass ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Faktoren gemeinsam im Einklang sein mĂŒssen. Einer der ersten Schritte ist die CO2-Bilanzierung. Sie dient zur Ermittlung der Ist-Situation. So können die grössten Hebel evaluiert werden, welche als Grundlage fĂŒr den Absenkpfad der Destination dienen.

 

E011 Textbild-Element

Valposchiavo

In der Valposchiavo stehen lokale Produkte „100% Valposchiavo“ aus lokal geschlossenen Wertschöpfungsketten von der Produktion ĂŒber die Lebensmittelveredelung und bis zum Genuss im Zentrum des touristischen Angebots des Tals. In Zukunft möchte sich die Valposchiavo als Tal, in dem Stromproduktion aus Wasserkraft seit ĂŒber 100 Jahren eine wichtige Rolle spielt, auch im Bereich der CO2-NeutralitĂ€t weiterentwickeln.

E011 Textbild-Element

Davos

In der Feriendestination Davos schĂŒtzen Unternehmen und GĂ€ste gemeinsam das Klima. Sie verhelfen einem ambitionierten Ziel zum Erfolg: Davos will bis zum Jahr 2030 der erste Ferienort der Schweiz mit Netto-Null-Emissionen werden. Im Fokus steht, Massnahmen zu fördern, die eine Reduktion der CO₂-Emissionen vor Ort bewirken. GĂ€ste, Kunden, Unternehmen und die Gemeinde speisen dazu gemeinsam den «myclimate Klimafonds Davos.

E041 Paralax Element

» Eine Bilanzierung des CO2-Fussabdruckes der touristischen Destination ist fĂŒr die Davos Destinations-Organisation ein wichtiger Grundstein, um die Klimaziele der kommenden Jahre wissenschaftsbasiert anzugehen.»
~ Luca Ravasio, Destination Davos Klosters

E010 Textblock-Element

Systemabgrenzung

Die Klima-Verantwortung des Tourismus reicht ĂŒber die Destinationsgrenzen hinaus. Schlussendlich ist die Motivation Urlaub zu machen, der Treiber, dass sich Menschen auf Reise begeben. Daher betrachtet unsere umfassende Berechnung des ehrlichen Klimafussabdrucks die gesamte Reise – von der Abfahrt zu Hause bis zur RĂŒckkehr und bezieht auch alle im Urlaub konsumierten Produkte und deren Transporte mit ein. In der Destination fliessen alle touristischen LeistungstrĂ€ger, von der Unterkunft, ĂŒber die Bergbahn bis zum Hallenbad in die Berechnung mit ein.

E010 Textblock-Element

Quickguide – in 5 Schritten zum umfassenden Klimaschutz

Schritt 1: Organisation

Strategische Entwicklungen brauchen Zeit und Arbeitskraft, das ist bei einer Fussabdrucksberechnung nicht anders. UnterschÀtzen Sie den Aufwand nicht!

Mehr zu Schritt 1

Schritt 2: Erhebung

FĂŒr die Erhebung wird das webbasierte System smart 3 benutzt, das myclimate entwickelt und im aktuellen Projekt mit der Fachhochschule GraubĂŒnden um einen Destinationsansatz erweitert hat. Sie benötigen dafĂŒr eine Lizenz und am besten einen EinfĂŒhrungsworkshop.

Mehr zu Schritt 2

Schritt 3: Auswertung

Die Auswertung der Daten dient der Identifikation der relevanten Bereiche (Hotspots) und bildet die Grundlage fĂŒr die erfolgreiche Planung von Massnahmen. Wiederholungen der Auswertung bilden die Ausgangslage fĂŒr die zukĂŒnftige Erfolgskontrolle.

Mehr zu Schritt 3

Schritt 4: Strategie

Die Erkenntnisse des Klimafussabdrucks sowie der Analyse interner und externer klimarelevanter Einflussfaktoren werden einer Klimastrategie zugrunde gelegt, um die Chancen und Risiken fĂŒr die Tourismusdestination aber auch fĂŒr die einzelnen LeistungstrĂ€ger zu evaluieren – und Massnahmen zum Klimaschutz zu erarbeiten.

Mehr zu Schritt 4

Schritt 5: Klimafonds

Der Klimafonds bildet den umfassenden Finanzierungsmechanismus fĂŒr die Umsetzung der Klimastrategie einer gesamten Destination.

Mehr zu Schritt 5
E041 Paralax Element

» Um unsere Ziele zu erreichen, mĂŒssen wir wissen, woher wir kommen. Den CO2-Fussabdruck der Destination zu kennen, ist die Basis, um VerĂ€nderungen anzustossen. Grösste Herausforderung hierbei ist, die Daten zu kennen und zu sammeln. Dank KlimDest erhalten wir ein Instrument, welches ermöglicht, diese WissenslĂŒcke zu schliessen und in Zukunft ein regelmĂ€ssiges Monitoring zu betreiben. «
~ Claudio Föhn, Destination Arosa

E010 Textblock-Element

Klimakommunikation – den Gast als Partner gewinnen

Ein wichtiges Projektergebnis betrifft die Klima- und Nachhaltigkeits-Kommunikation zu den GĂ€sten. Diese wollen weder belehrt noch bevormundet werden, haben aber Interesse am Klimaengagement in ihrer Urlaubsregion. Man kann die GĂ€ste durch richtige Kommunikation gut als VerbĂŒndete in den Anstrengungen gegen den Klimawandel gewinnen. Viele Untersuchungen zeigen zudem, dass nachhaltigkeitsbewusste Reisende auch bereit sind, mehr Geld fĂŒr klimafreundliche Produkte auszugeben. Unser Leitfaden zeigt einige der dafĂŒr erforschten Kommunikationsprinzipien dafĂŒr auf.

E041 Paralax Element

» In den letzten Jahren haben wir uns mit dem Projekt 100% Valposchiavo stark auf lokale Produkte gestĂŒtzt. KlimDest kann uns dabei helfen festzustellen, ob und wie stark diese BemĂŒhungen auf die CO2-Reduktion einzahlen. Ziel ist es, diese mit konkreten Zahlen zu untermauern. «
~ Kaspar Howald, Destination Valposchiavo

E052 Logoblock

Partner

E011 Textbild-Element

gefördert von

        

 

E010 Textblock-Element

Bildnachweis

Headerbild: © unsplash.com

1.Bild quer: © Valposchiavo Turismo

2.Bild quer: © Davos Klosters / Martin Heckmeier

3.Bild quer: © Arosa Tourismus / Nina Hardegger-Mattli

4.Bild quer: © Valposchiavo Turismo